# Minutes of the 2015 Holt Challenge In Annual General Meeting

# Held at Tracy Village Social & Sports Club

# 20<sup>th</sup> August 2015

Present: P. Coburn, D. Archer, P. Turner, L Hickey, R. Hatchard, I. Coburn, S. Archer, P. Spender,

C. Dennis, D Staier, K. Cock, C. Barlow, M. Lownsborough, D. Nichols, A. Krink, J. Matherson, J. Webster,

P. Webster, R. Reeves, D. Holt, M. Radnell, V. Pappin, D. Morrison, L. Ward, T. Swan, A. Swan,

D. Van der meer, B. Van der meer, J. Strickland, S. Tubb, T. Stanley, S. Wheeler, T. Broadbent, L Hawkes,

K. Camisa, L Fabian, G Czmok

Apologies: Nil

Meeting started at 7.02pm

<u>Quorum</u>: The voting strength of 8 voting delegates was established from the 9 zones represented in the Darrell Holt Challenges. ACT, SA, NQ, NSW, SQ, VIC, NT, WA.

TAS arrived at 7.45pm and added to the voting delegates. 9 Voting Delegates in total.

Minutes from the Previous meeting: Moved by C. Dennis (ACT) Seconded by L Ward (SQ) and CARRIED as tabled.

There was no Business arising from these minutes.

The Chairman's report, Secretary's report and the Treasurer's report were all presented. Moved for acceptance by P Webster (VIC) Seconded by P Spender (NSW) and carried as tabled.

## NOTICES OF MOTION:

- Moved: Brian Van der meer (NSW), Debbie Van der meer (NSW) TERMS OF THE MOTION Amendment to Clause 22.3 add "except for the positions of Chairman and Secretary whose term of office shall be for two years but eligible for re-election on alternate years". PURPOSE OF THE MOTION To bring Holt Challenge Inc. in line with the zone branch rules and to promote stability in the executive whilst moving forward. CARRIED – 5 in favour, 2 against, 1 Abstain
- Moved: Julie Strickland (NSW), Seconded: Debbie Van der meer (NSW) TERMS OF THE MOTION To change the eligibility period for a replacement Chairman (Clause 22.6) from one year to a two year service on the national executive. PURPOSE OF THE MOTION To ensure that the candidate is sufficiently versed in procedures and duties performed by the Holt Chairperson thus providing continuity for Holt Challenge Inc. CARRIED – 7 in favour, 1 against
- Moved: Garry Lee (TAS), Seconded: Tania Rowe (TAS) TERMS OF THE MOTION That the positions Chairperson and Secretary be a two year term elected on alternate years. PURPOSE OF THE MOTION To be the same as the branch rules WITHDRAWN Same as motion 1

 Moved: Lance Hickey (ACT), Seconded: Peter Coburn TERMS OF THE MOTION
To increase the cost of membership of the Holt Challenge Inc. to annual amount of \$10. The distribution to be \$7 to the National account and \$3 to the zone committee account.

#### PURPOSE OF THE MOTION

The membership fee has not increased since the creation of Holt Challenge Inc. in 2007. Costs to the national committee have and are continuing to increase for items such as our insurance etc. The increase is to partially offset these costs CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

5. Moved: Dallas Archer (NSW), Seconded: Steven Fairbairn TERMS OF THE MOTION To change the format of the Classic Challenge to a mixed team of seven bowlers with a playing strength of five on the lanes. Line-up must have at least one member of each gender. In the roll offs the first two men and women are automatically in the team. The next three bowlers with the highest scratch pinfall would make up the remainder of the team regardless of gender.

### PURPOSE OF THE MOTION

To strengthen the Classic Challenge whilst alleviating the strain for various zones to find four classic averaged ladies. Also this could potentially open more spots for classic men **WITHDRAWN** 

 Moved: Darrell Holt (VIC) Seconded: Mark Radnell TERMS OF THE MOTION All Restricted female bowlers that bowl Classic Challenge to receive an 8 pin bonus PURPOSE OF THE MOTION Classic Challenge ladies includes a lot of Restricted bowlers filling spots and without the support of these bowlers Classic ladies would not happen. DEFEATED UNANIMOUSLY

## **GENERAL BUSINESS:**

Notices of Motion 5 & 6 above dealt with in General Business

Classic Masters to be named the Peter Coburn Classic Masters Motion put forward by D. Holt Seconded by L. Ward. Passed unanimously

Rotation of Holt Carnival set for the next 3 years 2016 SA, 2017 ACT, 2018 VIC

Accredited Tournament discussed and will be TBA Accredited for 2016.

Open tournament suggested for 2016. To be discussed further at the January Executive meeting.

## **ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS:**

All positions were declared vacant and the Election of Office bearers for 2016 are as follows

One formal and valid nomination has been received for the Chairman's position. Dallas Archer has been nominated by P. Coburn and Seconded by P. Turner. **Dallas Archer was elected Chairman unopposed.** Dallas Archer accepted the position.

Four formal and valid nominations has been received for the Vice Chairman's position. Dallas Archer has been nominated by D. Van Der Meer and Seconded by B Van Deer Meer (Withdrawn) Cheryl Dennis has been nominated by D. Staier and Seconded by P. Turner Janine Matheson has been nominated by A. Krink and Seconded by C. Cowan Tillie Swan has been nominated by L. Ward and Seconded by A. Swan **Tillie Swan was elected Vice Chairman with a majority + 1.** Tillie Swan accepted the position.

One formal and valid nomination has been received for the Secretary's position. Pam Turner has been nominated by Peter Coburn and Seconded by Ronda Hatchard **Pam Turner was elected Secretary unopposed.** Pam Turner accepted the position.

One formal and valid nomination has been received for the Treasurer's position. Lance Hickey has been nominated by D Staier and Seconded by S Watts. Lance Hickey was elected Treasurer unopposed. Lance Hickey accepted the position.

Peter Coburn thanked all those in attendance

Meeting Closed 8.50pm